Skip to content
March 19, 2011 / flogginwater

Just When I Thought It Couldn’t Get Better…

The Free Market need not worry about me not spending money. Today was a damn impulse buying day if there ever was one. Remember how in a previous post, I said I didn’t think I’d ever find a rod that really had what I was looking for, without building it myself? Well today I found the closest thing I can get, without building it myself. And I didn’t spend a hundred bucks to get it either!

After stopping at the bank today, I went into the local Dick’s Sporting Goods to kill some time, and see if they had anymore hooks that I use in, and maybe see what lures were on sale. I made it as far as the 2nd rack of fishing rods that sits atop the lure cases before I found what I *had* to have. Amongst the assortment of heavy action bass bait casters, crappy Shakespeare “trout” rods that you could muscle a big channel cat in with, and a few reduced price samlon and steelhead combos – was a real gem – a Diawa Riversider 10 foot 0 inch Ultra Light spinning/float rod, rated for 2-8lb test line. The tag claimed it was a steelhead rod – but I don’t know too many northwest steelheaders that use such rods – sometimes referred to as noodle rods – around here. I understand that using such rods – usually in longer lengths than 10 feet – was/is popular in the Great Lakes region. If you had the balls to fish a noodle rod here in the PNW – be prepared to have insults worse than Snagger or Baby Rapist hurled at you for daring to fish such light tackle for our precious steelhead (I wouldn’t hurl such insults, but have been accused of fishing too-light a rod on occasion.) Whatever Dick’s wants to pitch it as – I say it’s damn near the perfect rod for the micro jig fishing I do for trout and panfish. It’s long – really long – and that means better line mending, and better line control. It’s light – which means I can cast tiny lures with it. It’s got some backbone – which means I can pressure a fish. It’s got decent quality guides, cork, and even a nifty fold-away hook keeper. Best yet – it was on sale for damn near 50% off – I paid $29 for this rod, and it came with a Diawa spinning reel. Okay, so I won’t be using that reel – the first thing I did when I got home was to pull the reel it came with off, and mount one of my Okumas.

Given that this rod isn’t as light or thin in the blank as my 7 foot Celilo – it wasn’t going to balance well with a 1000 series reel. That’s OK. The Diawa reel that came off was a 2500 series anyway- and that’s what I replaced it with – one of my Sienna 2500’s. Now I’m going to have to buy ANOTHER Sienna reel – because I took this specimen off of my 7’6″ Celilo – which has been my overall favorite and workhorse rod for the better part of a decade.

The Sienna 2500 balances nicely with this rod. Now I can’t wait to get it out on the water and give it a test run! I can’t decide whether to hold off and break this rod in out at Hagg, gunning for panfish, bass, and trout – or if I should give it a real trial by fire – and go carp fishing for it’s first outing. Carp on this bad boy would be some serious fun – and give me a really good idea of how it’ll perform with a good bass or trout on the end. And really – whoever says they don’t like catching carp is either a god damned liar, clinically dead, or they’re an elitist snob that needs the corn cob removed from their ass. You can quote me on that. Seriously – if you’re a catch & release fisherman anyway – carping is awesome. Big fish, big fight – and you’re not risking killing precious native steelhead, salmon, or trout.

I just can’t decide yet. Damn ODFW’s decision to keep our streams closed for trouting until May – the way I’d REALLY like to break this rod in – is trout fishing on flowing water, using my nifty Trout Magnet jigs. I might just have to go panfishing with this first, since I already rigged it up with a float and a Trout Magnet 🙂

If Okuma replicated this rod in their Celilo line, I’d be ecstatic.

I took some good shots to compare the handle design between the old school 7 foot Celilo, the new 8’6″ Celilo, and the 10′ Riversider. I would’ve taken some good tip shots – but I need to wait for a sunny day and get some outside on the driveway, as the shop just doesn’t have enough room to do so properly.

And a comparison of the relative locations of the first guide, with all reels aligned…

I’m as impressed with this new rod as I can be – without actually fishing it. Now I hope it doesn’t turn out to be a turd. That would be a huge let down.

One Comment

  1. Mel / Mar 19 2011 12:26

    I will be awaiting your initial tests and blog reports.

Comments are closed.

