Skip to content
May 3, 2011 / flogginwater

As promised – pix of the new toy!

I know it’s been a couple days – I’ve been really under the weather since Saturday night. Some sort of Martian Death Flu. I’ve been coughing and sneezing up this horrid lung butter, sweating, I’ve had the chills, I’ve had awful sinus pressure, pounding head aches, dizzy, light headed, and generally felt like I’ve been falling apart. I had to call off sick from work today, and spent the majority of my day passed out in bed. The only thing that’s made it bearable is what I’ve come to refer to as the “feel better cocktail” – a dose of honest sudafed (not the PE crap that doesnt’t work), a dose of mucinex, and tylenol. It seems to be helping.

But you folks probably don’t want to hear about my latest brush with illness, so enjoy some canoe pix instead…

In addition to the new canoe (and two nifty new Stearns life vests, and a spare paddle) I purchased a nifty new Frabil extending, folding landing net. When in it’s compact travel/storage form, it takes up very little space, when the basket is folded and locked in the open position, it gives you a nice triangular basket that should work well for fish upto about 24″ or so. The shaft extends out, and goes from about 20″ or so (I haven’t measured it yet) to about 40+ inches or so. It’s the perfect length for bringing in a fish if I’m using a long spinning or fly rod – especially if fishing from the canoe. There were a couple fish caught last year that I really had wished I’d had a landing net along with me to get, as I was afraid of breaking them off by liping them or otherwise landing them by hand. I’ve got a couple landing nets – but they’re just too bulky to carry with me when I’m on foot, or in a float tube. This net, storing as compact as it does, can go everywhere with me. I can’t wait to try it out on a nice fish 🙂

Aside from the new toys, i’ve also been tying some flies here and there – haven’t had a lot of time to do that since becoming a daddy. I have been tying mostly at night, between feeding/changing the little tyke, while giving mommy some down time. I’m usually good for two or maybe three flies before he gets fussy and needs fed or changed, or just wants to cuddle w/ daddy. Which is just fine with me. 🙂 So I’ve tied up a few more Bunny Buggers, and started to do some experimenting with foam flies again. Here are the latest results…

One Comment

  1. Cofisher / May 3 2011 15:42

    Nice canoe and really nice flies. Get yourself better.

Comments are closed.

