Skip to content
May 4, 2011 / flogginwater

Milestones?

Just put the little man back down to sleep not long ago. Tied up a few deer hair bass bugs, in an attempt to will good weather and good fishing to take hold, and decided to hop on here and check some things – including my blog’s “stats” page. I haven’t checked that in a few days – and I noticed I’ve got 1095 hits now, not including my own. Wow! I’m sure a hundred or so of those are thanks to Owl Jones and his contest to give away a Rise Fishing rod. A lot of those hits though – have come through some sort of internet search – or referrals from three top places – the Oregon Fishing Forum, iFish, and Mel – the Blog Cabin Angler 🙂

I’m surprised that it has taken just a couple months to breach 1000 visitors, and if the stats engine is anywhere near right, I’ve had visitors from China, Korea, Japan, Canada, Germany, Russia, the UK, the US, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Argentina, Denmark, Malaysia, Australia, Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, France, and South Africa. I never imagined when I started this thing, that I would have such an international audience! I’m flattered, and I hope that everyone who has found this place has come away with something useful, or at least gotten a laugh at the silly American and his little fishing blog!

I’ve got some more posts planned soon – including some videos on tying some of my more heavily used fly patterns. I’ve got some gear reviews in the wings, and I still need to wrap up my fly fishing introduction series (I’ve been waiting on good weather to get some good pictures for this). I also plan an article on the use of the Trout Magnet jigs – possibly a multi-part article if it goes really well.

Not only has my blog reached some milestones, but I’m approaching some neat personal milestones this year – my wife and I will be celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary, we’ll have been together for 5 years this July. I turn 30 years old this year (much too soon for my taste!) – and my son is 3 weeks old today – he’s already rolling over on his own, and Daddy’s begun reading to him so he’ll get a jump start on literacy 🙂

2011 is 1/3 over, and it’s already shaping up to be a good year – better than previous years in many ways – I hope the trend continues. Thank you to my readers and public followers. All I can say is, if you like the blog, please click the “follow” button if you’re not already a follower – I’d like to check out your own blogs, if I’m not already reading them.

Until later – tight lines!

4 Comments

  1. Cofisher / May 4 2011 08:31

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Cofisher / May 4 2011 08:32

    When you reach my age, every day you wake up is a milestone. Celebrate those things that are most important to you my friend. Congrats!

  3. Mel / May 4 2011 20:23

    Thanks for the pat on the back. I find your blog entertaining and enjoyable to read. I read a lot of blogs and find Floggin' Water one of the best newer blogs being written. Will continue, hopefully, to share readers with you for some time to come.

  4. e.m.b. / May 9 2011 22:20

    “2011 is 1/3 over, and it's already shaping up to be a good year – better than previous years in many ways” — definitely true in my life. Cheers to it! And Congrats on all of your milestones…I'm glad to have found your blog and be following along!

Comments are closed.

