Skip to content
May 15, 2011 / flogginwater

Quick Reviews – Cortland Fairplay Fly Line, Cortland Leader Loop Connectors, and Wright & McGill Gear Pin

Wow what a big title for this post!

This isn’t a full blown Gear Corner gear review – but I’m going to give you a mini review on a few new items I’ve purchased. As always (so far) all these items were purchased by me, I haven’t been given anything by anyone, except grief in large quantities from numerous people, and mother nature.

First up – the Cortland Fairplay Rocket Taper 4 weight floating fly line.

This is a full length fly line, a weight forward type of line using Cortland’s “Rocket Taper” – which provides a long belly (40′) with short front and rear tapers, and a thin level running line behind the head of the fly line. Cost was $19.99 at Dick’s Sporting Goods.

This line comes in a light orange or dark tan color, similar to the color of dry grass in the summer time or early fall. It’s made in America (shocking, but refreshing). When spooling the line onto the reel I’m using for it – I noticed the line was pretty tightly coiled onto the spool it came on, and had a bit of memory. This was easily overcome by running the line all the way out, stretching it a bit to straighten it before winding it on. No problemos!

To the business end of this line I added a Cortland braided loop connector.

These add-on loops are made of braided monofilament thread, they are hollow, and slip over the end of the line, attaching via heat shrink tubing (which is included int he package.) There were 4 of these loops in the package, with a length of the heat shrink tube which you trim down and then slide over the fly line, before threading the braided loop on. Cost – $6.

The braided loop goes on the fly line like an inch worm – it takes about 5 minutes to install the loop, if you don’t screw up and melt the fly line like I did the first time. (Don’t get the fly line too close to the heat source!)

So for me, the 2nd try was the charm.

I tried this fly line out during my fishing outing last Thursday – using a Cortland tapered leader, which I’d tied a Perfection Loop in the end of, and attached loop to loop with the fly line. Fishing a double fly rig – a #12 Black Goddard Caddis, and a #12 bead head damsel (generic pattern) with my 8′ 4wt rod, I was pushing out 30 to 35 foot casts without problems. The rocket taper line turned the two fly rig over easily. Roll casts worked fine with this line and the two fly rig.

It also turned over a #8 Ugly Bug fished by itself.

I didn’t fish at longer distances than about 35 feet, because we were able to get close to the fish, and I didn’t need to make longer casts.

The loop to loop connections worked fine, and didn’t create a hinge point in the cast, as I’ve had with previous loop to loop connections. It could be because the loops with the Cortland loops are smaller than loops I’ve used before, they most certainly are smaller than the welded loops found on other fly lines. This smallness allowed the line end to slip through the snake guides with ease, without catching.

Both the line and the leader loop connector worked in harmony.

The other piece of gear I wanted to talk about today is Wright & McGill’s Double Tool Retractor – which has two D-loop connectors on their own retracting braided nylon cords.

I bought this to attach to my life jacket that I wear with the canoe (and will wear from now on with my float tube) to 1.) Attach my safety whistle on (since you must have a sound warning device) and 2.) Attach a pair of forceps with. I tried attaching my large nail nippers to them, but they were so heavy that they pulled the cord taught, and didn’t really work as a ‘retractor’. But the forceps held just fine, as did the safety whistle. This little tool was most assuredly worth the $4 paid for it.

I’m still in the testing phase with the Fairplay line, and the loop to loop connections. I’ll give a better review of the line when I’ve had more time to fish it, and when I finally get my Wind River rod, if Mother Nature and the UPS man cooperate and bring it to my door step tomorrow!

One Comment

  1. Cofisher / Nov 14 2011 19:17

    Thanks for the mini-review. I often use Fairplay rocket taper and I've found it to be a reliable easy to work with line. It generally does need to be stretched…no big deal.

Comments are closed.

