Skip to content
May 30, 2011 / flogginwater

A Good Weekend

The long weekend is almost over. It’s Memorial Day – thank you to all those who’ve served, and even greater thanks to those who paid the ultimate sacrifice for the freedoms we enjoy.

It was a “working” weekend for me, as usual. It was very slow though – didn’t have but one tow a day Saturday & Sunday. We spent the afternoon/evening with family last night, and had a good time. Saturday Kay’s parents visited, and brought along her aunt to meet the little man. Her dad also brought along a few more presents for me – more of my late brother in law’s rods.

They were all salmon/steelhead gear rods – all Loomis, with Shimano reels (Kevin had top shelf taste in his gear) – there was an 11’4″ bobber rod for steelhead, an 8’6″ medium-fast action spinning rod that Kevin had rigged up for drift fishing (it was mated with an early iteration of the Shimano Sienna 4000 spinning reel), and two 1-piece salmon baitcasters – an 8′ back bouncing rod with a Shimano Cardiff 301, and an 8’4″ plug rod with a Shimano Corvalus 301 (I had a Corvalus 401 on my heavy salmon rod, these are solid reels!). All the reels I got this time seem to have been loaded up with 65lb hi-viz yellow Tuf Line braid. All of them show signs of good use – so I’m hoping that like the bass rod I got, there’s some good mojo on these rods.

It’s still a bit early in the season for me to really put any of them to use except the bass rod, I don’t have running big boat yet, so hitting the larger rivers to troll for spring chinook isn’t happening real soon. In another month or so the summer steelhead season should be going good, so that long float rod should see some action throwing a bobber & jig rig.

I passed a couple more of my rods on to my nephew after getting this latest gift too – I promised Kay’s dad I would put Kevin’s rods to use – so I’ve been passing along my Okuma rods to Tyler when I can. He went him Saturday with the 10′ Diawa (that’s still a virgin) and my 9’6″ Celilo steelhead spinning rod. I put my newer Sienna 4000 on the Loomis float rod, and I really must say I’m itching to try it out.

I also tied up a number of panfish/bass bugs again Friday night and Saturday morning – I found some #12 Kahle hooks at Wal-Mart of all places (they’re Eagle Claw LazerSharp hooks too, so not shabby) for $2, so I’ve been tying up some smaller versions of my poppers and sliders. I’ve got to get some photos of them up soon.

I need to sit down and reorganize my fly boxes too, soon. My latest fly tying jags have left me with a bunch of new dries and wets and I need to sort through my boxes and put them in their proper places.

It also looks like there might be a move on the horizon. Things at work aren’t going terribly great – business is down, and I’ve got to find something new soon. There may be a good opportunity with another towing outfit near the city of Sandy, Oregon. I’m waiting to get a call back from the owner of that company. I’m also waiting to hear back from my home county, with whom I’ve applied for a job with. I took a written test and scored well enough to get the #10 slot on their eligibility list. I hope that means I’ll at least get an interview. THAT is the job that I really want, at this point – but I need something soon – as my pay is taking a pretty good nose dive right now unless business does a 180 RFN. I’ll make more money with my vacation pay this weekend than I would working, which kind of sucks.

But my spirits are still up pretty well – and the fishing and fly tying, and spending time with my little guy has been helping to manage the stresses of life. Things could be worse, after all.

One Comment

  1. Mel / May 30 2011 20:22

    Sounds like a big score too me on those rods and reels. With honor in your mind and love in your heart, I am sure these rods will be good hands now. Hope the job situation picks up or something pops up for you.

Comments are closed.

