Skip to content
June 17, 2011 / flogginwater

Top 5, Top 3, Top 10?

So Owl Jones and Dustin from Dustin’s Fly Box have posted their top 5 favorite blogs. This forces one to think – I’m a follower of a lot of blogs, and they’re all unique, each author has a writing style all their own. Some of those blogs make me laugh, some make me think, and some I soak up the knowledge like a sponge, and some are just purely great reads that feed my mind’s need for good mind-food.

So, taking the huge risk of making some authors feel bad, I’ll join the group consciousness and add my own top 5 favorite blogs to read, as of this moment. These are subject to change, of course, but haven’t changed much…

In no particular order – Mysteries International, The African Fly Angler, Wind Knots & Tangled Lines, Carp on the Fly, and the RIVER KEEPER blogs are my top 5 favorite reads. OwlJones.com and Antlers & Gills both get honorable mentions to boot.

That’s not meant to slight any other bloggers – I honestly read every blog on my blog roll within a couple days of new posts, and I routinely go back and re-read things I’ve already read before to pick up new bits of info I might have missed, or had forgotten about before.

I’d also like to give a shout to the top 3 blogs that refer readers here to Floggin’ Water. Still in the #1 position is Carp on the Fly, #2 is Wind Knots & Tangled Lines, and #3 Southern Oregon Fishing Reports. These are not only the blogs that referred back here the most this week, but they hold those places for the last month, and for all time (okay, that’s what, 4 months now?) – Thank you, gentlemen, for spreading the good word!

And finally, a top 10 – my Top 10 Favorite Fly Patterns (which might become it’s own post soon, to include pictars! w00t!)

In no particular order:

Woolly Bugger
Bunny Bugger
Zug Bug
Hare’s Ear Soft Hackle
Humpie
Dahlberg Diver
Royal Coachman
March Brown
Floss body soft hackles
Hair wing caddis

You might note that some of those are more generic descriptions, rather than set fly patterns. And that’s on purpose 🙂

3 Comments

  1. e.m.b. / Jun 17 2011 06:14

    Thanks for the mention! And, I will have to try tying some of your top 10 patterns. Generic is good…I can never follow directions, and my flies, cooking, anything, tends to be a little ad lib. 😉 Cheers!

  2. Cofisher / Jun 17 2011 21:15

    Mark, thanks for the mention here as well. As I mentioned in my very first post, I'm no expert and I don't usually give advice, I'm a mediocre tier and I get by fishing. I guess my best asset is I love communicating with good people. That's why you're on my list.

  3. John Montana / Jun 21 2011 20:46

    Honored to have made the list…must be all those pretty fish I take pictures of…

Comments are closed.

