Skip to content
July 1, 2011 / flogginwater

Canoe Mods?

Did a little (and I mean very little) work on the canoe today (since I couldn’t go fishing).

I’ve noticed the last couple times I took her out, that when I tied it to the roof of the jeep, it was pulling the molded in handles/railing away from the hull and distorting them. I didn’t like this – so i finally got around to doing something I wanted to do shortly after I bought it – I installed 4 sets of D-rings onto the exterior, allowing me to simply hook my ratchet strap hooks into the D-rings. Turned out really well, and tomorrow when there’s some good usable light, I’m going to try getting some pix of the finished project. It only took about half an hour to get all 4 done, and that was me being lazy. Tools were spartan too… my Ryobi drill with a 1/4 inch bit, and a 7/16th box wrench to tighten up the bolts. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

I want to install an anchor system (two, actually) and maybe install a couple of cleats (which could be said to be part of the anchor system?) – that’d make it way easier to use two anchors when I’m by myself in the boat.

I also plan on adding a couple rod holders – the el-cheapo Danielson clamp on model I picked up ($5) doesn’t work for shit, at least in a test fitting in the drive way. The base wont grab anywhere on the canoe properly, and the bolt holding the actual rod holder body on to the base extends so far upward as to interfere with actually using the rod holder. In other words, it’s cheap garbage. I’m just going to have to spring for a couple of the nicer Fish On or Scotty rod holders.

I’m also trying to come up with a good solution for rod storage, that protects the rods and keeps them out of the way when underway, but readily accessible when I’m ready to use one (I always carry multiple rods with me) – the caveat is that it must either be easily removable, or wouldn’t interfere with using the center or forward seats if I’ve got one or two other people in the boat with me.

I’m also toying with the idea of installing some padded, folding seats, but not sure yet on that one. Anyone have some ideas, or want to share mods they’ve done to their fishing craft?

3 Comments

  1. blake / Jul 1 2011 07:37

    the clamp on rod holders are a pain in the ass, they never seem to sit flush on a curved canoe. i just installed the screw in mounts with the adjustable angles. works great for trolling when your out paddeling around.

  2. e.m.b. / Jul 1 2011 09:31

    I've been wanting to rig up some kind of rod holders on the side for trolling, and set up something for anchoring too. You've got some great ideas…good luck!

  3. Mark / Jul 1 2011 12:02

    Emily – that's exactly what I am wanting to do w/ the rod holders. Right now, if I want to troll a fly or lure while paddling, I jam the butt of the rod under my seat, angling the tip outward, and trying to keep it in place with my leg – while also trying to keep it out of the way of the paddle. Easier said than done.

    Blake – which brand did you settle on for your rod holders?

    I'm still trying to devise a good anchoring system – I'm trying to come up with something that will use a cleat, a pulley or two, and possibly some sort of eye bolt or line guides that will let me pick up and drop the anchor without turning around and twisting my back – something similar to a drift boat anchor setup, but without spending the big bucks they want for such anchors. Putting the same thing up on the bow would allow me to pick up & drop anchor at that end without having to scramble over rods and seats (and of course risk tipping the boat) to do it.

    My anchors right now are pretty ghetto, but they work – I'm using a pair of 5lb free weights tied to my anchor lines with improved clinch knots. Eventually I'm going to replace at least one with a proper anchor, as I finally found my little mushroom.

    I've even gone so far as to toy with the idea of installing oar locks on the canoe and picking up a set of pontoon oars or something – but I'm not sure on that one yet.

Comments are closed.

