Skip to content
August 8, 2011 / flogginwater

Rant or Rave?

When I began formulating this post in my head, I was going to rant about Cabela’s dropping the ball with my order. You see, the rod from the combo I ordered last week arrived today. Just the rod. Package said “1 of 1” on the shipping label. I called Cabela’s and gave them the “what gives” routine. The nice lady who answered my call told me that the second half of my shipment would be delayed, as it was out of stock, and wasn’t slated to be back in stock until August 18th with another 5-10 day turn around time to get to me after that. I was starting to get mad. Their website made no mention of being “out of stock” or “limited supply” or anything, and I had received no mention of this through email or other means – and of course I had only been given one tracking number. I asked if a substitution was available for the missing items – not really wanting to wait until the end of the month or the first of September to get what I’d ordered. She said no, I could cancel the order and buy something else – how do you do that when you buy a package deal? I was pissed – and I was going to come on here and pitch a digital fit about getting mushroomed. (I’d like to point out that this is my first ever such experience with Cabela’s, every other order has always arrived on-time or they’ve kept me apprised.)

Not 5 minutes later, I get a phone call from the lady I spoke to. She was curious as to my order and did some digging. It seems that Cabela’s shipping computers and UPS shipping computers hadn’t been working in perfect harmony – and that indeed *my* items had been shipped – although I hadn’t been given a separate tracking number for the box containing my reel and lines. She told me to expect my additional items tomorrow, and that mine was one of the last orders filled before it went “out of stock.” Yay for me! I hope. We’ll see, I guess, if Brown drops off the other half of my goodies tomorrow.

On a slight tangent, I did open the rod to make sure it was in fact – and it is. A beautiful burned olive colored graphite thunder stick with a comfy full wells grip and rubber tipped fighting butt resting behind polished aluminum reel seat. This will definitely handle some big fish. I just wish I had the reel & line to see how they balance. I’m itching to do some Big-Fish fishing!

2 Comments

  1. Cofisher / Aug 8 2011 17:34

    Patience is a virtue, so they say. They didn't know any fisherman waiting for the goodies to arrive. Good luck with the order. I feel your pain.

  2. Mark / Aug 8 2011 19:13

    I know why the mix up really happened – I was making plans to *use* the combo this week. The thought of either using it to chuck BIG bass bugs & streamers, or to go swing wet flies for steelhead caused Murphy to pop up and play his pranks.

    I can be a very patient man, but not when it comes to getting muh new toys!

Comments are closed.

