Skip to content
August 23, 2011 / flogginwater

Almost Complete

I received my shipment of thread finish today, and wanted to get to work on the rod. I decided to re-wrap the guides before finishing them, just wasn’t pleased with the original wraps. The new wraps are more even, though I left off the accent wraps for the snake guides. The stripping guides got the white accent wraps. I admit, I got lazy and didn’t want to re-do the ferrule wraps. I might wind up cutting them off and re-doing when the epoxy dries, depending on how it looks when it’s all done.

The epoxy is drying right now – so if it all turned out well, the rod should be ready to fish on Thursday. If it’s a go – we’re going to hit up the coast for some cutthroat fishing. Sea run cutthroat trout would be a killer way to break in the new rod.

