Skip to content
September 17, 2011 / flogginwater

Swingin’ Singles & Doubles

Thursday this week found me on the river again – September is *usually* the best time to hit up the coastal cutthroat fisheries – sea run cutthroat trout move upstream toward their spawning grounds, like their cousin – the steelhead, and their distant cousin the salmon. All of these fish share the same waters, and generally eat the same foods.

Needing a day out to think, recharge, and recover from the previous week’s disappointing trips – I grabbed three rods, my fly vest, and hit the road. The goal for the day? Catch fish with the new Echo SR, and maybe catch a fish with my ghetto tenkara rod. I caught fish with the Echo, nada with the Durankara. But that’s ok.

I took a variety of flies with me – mostly trout flies, but a few good steelhead flies, in case I found some willing big fish.

I rigged up my Wind River rod with the 3 weight line & reel I used to use with the broken Grigg, it worked quite well actually. I stuck with a single fly set up with this rod, most of the time that single fly was a chartreuse dyed dubbed rabbit body reverse soft hackled wet fly. The cutties loved it. I only switched this fly out when they started eating dry flies on top. The bug hatch wasn’t anything big and fun – no, they were tiny little tan colored midges. I tied on one of the smallest dry flies I had with me – a parachute hackle BWO #18. It worked well enough for the cutties.

The Echo, I rigged up with a tandem wet fly team, and fished these under an indicator half the time, and on the swing the other half. First fish with the Echo was a nice little 8″ cutthroat. It would turn out to be the largest fish landed of the day, but that’s OK too.

The water level was a little higher than last time – probably thanks to the drizzly weather the last few days. It showered on and off all day – which was a pleasant change from the 90 degree days I’ve been growing used to.

I love the way the Echo SR casts and fished – this rod really felt made for the medium size coastal rivers. I really need to work on my spey casting – but I managed well enough to be able to hit the opposite bank with my flies most of the time (the opposite bank never being more than about 60′ away).

I had a good day, some nice long walks along the river, and caught a number of small trout.

I wrapped up the day by spotting a pair of coho salmon that were dark and decaying – chasing one another around a shallow pool.

I’d also seen a fresh summer steelhead upstream at the start of my day, but that fish was unwilling to eat anything I tossed at him. And that was OK too.

One Comment

  1. Cofisher / Sep 17 2011 20:37

    Does indeed sound like a good day.

Comments are closed.

