Skip to content
September 27, 2011 / flogginwater

30

The time, right now, as I’m typing these very characters, is 2306 (11:06 PM for normal people). That means there’s less than an hour left of my 30th birthday.

It really doesn’t feel different than my 29th, except that I weigh a bit more, and my back is a bit more sore at the end of the day.

There was no fan-fare for the day. I worked until 5PM. Came home, had dinner with my wife and in-laws, then went and visited with other family members. A few more people remembered my birthday this year than previous iterations of same. I got 2 cards this year – which is about average. They were neat cards.

Gift-wise – those who gave gifts gave the gift of green. Much appreciated – I wound up with enough to buy 2 very good rods, or one really, really nice rod. or a very nice rod/reel/line combo. Way more than I ever expected to get.

I’m taking a trip to my local fly shop tomorrow to celebrate. Big Brown will be delivering my Cabela’s care package tomorrow too (both packages have been received in Portland, so they’ll be out on a truck by 6AM or 7AM). Can’t wait to get my LSi in hand. I’m going fishing on Thursday – splitting my trip. I’m going to hit the water early in the morning and fish with my buddy Jason, the crappie killer. Haven’t figured out where else I’ll fish. I’ll for sure have a 6 weight to break in, and who knows what goody will follow me home from the fly shop.

As birthdays go, this one wasn’t the best, wasn’t the worst – and I’m still alive and kicking, and thankful for it. Three decades down – many more to come I hope.

2 Comments

  1. Cofisher / Sep 28 2011 11:42

    Happy birthday you young whippersnapper! If you are waiting for your copy of “Entering your golden years”…forget it, it's out of print and you're on your own.

  2. Mark / Sep 29 2011 01:13

    Howard, can I just borrow your copy? Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease?

Comments are closed.

