Skip to content
October 25, 2011 / flogginwater

Shadows of Things to Come

Last night I was thinking (I know, scarey, right?) One of the reasons I started this blog was to share knowledge with others, especially beginning anglers. It can be a daunting thing – getting into fishing, especially fly fishing. In that vein, I want to create a running list – a compilation of bargains from around the ‘net. They can be weekly specials, or regularly priced items that give you a lot of bang for your buck. And so in the very near future, I’m going to be adding a “Bargain Bin” or whatever I wind up calling it, so that new anglers can find some good deals. You don’t HAVE to spend a lot of money to get good gear. I’ve also got to get my butt in gear and finish up the beginner’s primer to fly fishing. I’ve been holding off because of lack of decent photos to match, I might just have to slap together the text and add photos as I can get them. If anyone knows of a good bargain on gear, drop a digital dime and post it up here, so I can add it to the bargain bin.

Also, if you guys hadn’t noticed the change in your browser yet – the above image should appear in your tabs – it’s our new favicon. Like it? Love it? Hate it? Let me know!

5 Comments

  1. Jay / Oct 25 2011 22:02

    I'm not sure if I would call it a bargain in the sense of a good deal on expensive gear, but I can recommend a well made, quality component, inexpensive rod by a small operation out of CO called Gremlin Fishing. I found the rods originally on Ebay. I have three of them. You can search there for “Emerald Matrix Fly Rod” and you'll find them. You can also check their website. I can't speak for their other “bargain” products. http://www.gremlinfishing.com

  2. Mark / Oct 26 2011 01:33

    That's actually exactly the kind of thing I was thinking about Jay – doesn't have to be a sale – but regularly priced items too. Good gear gotten inexpensively is the idea behind my “Bargain Bin” idea.

  3. HighPlainsFlyFisher / Oct 26 2011 15:47

    Great blog you've got here , first time visiting and I really enjoyed it. You've got some good ideas and I'm looking forward to following along.
    Jeff

  4. Mark / Oct 27 2011 12:44

    Welcome aboard Jeff!

  5. Ryan / Oct 27 2011 19:43

    Stumbled upon your blog today through OBN. Very nice! I'll keep my eye on it.

    The Average Joe Fisherman
    http://averagejoefisherman.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.

