Skip to content
February 27, 2012 / flogginwater

Swaps and Contests

Owl Jones is a machine. He’s running a contest right now for a Cabela’s Wind River 5 weight rod – a great inexpensive fishing rod. All ya gotta do is tie one of your best flies and mail it to him to enter. (Check out OJDC for entry details).

He’s also running a nifty foam fly swap. It’s a foam terrestrial swap that is, some part of the fly must be foam. So I’m tying up two dozen plus one extra (he wants two dozen participants) foam yellow jackets. I was going to do my foam bee – which is similar – but I’m out of Cactus chenille, and what with change in my employment status – I’m putting off purchasing more fly tying stuff until I get my first good paycheck. So I’m improvising, and instead of cactus chenille, I’m using black hackle. Booyah – adapt, improvise, and overcome – Gunny Highway would be proud.

I cranked out the first dozen of these flies – plus a contender for the fly rod contest (an Adams colored McKenzie’s Paddle Wheel Mayfly)

Here’s the flies

Photobucket

Check out owljones.com and see what the fuss is about.

