Skip to content
March 17, 2012 / flogginwater

Sunk on Dry Land

Thursday the wife, kiddo, and I headed across a couple counties to visit some good friends. This friend had my little 6 horse – he was going to look at it for me last summer, and life just kinda got in the way for him – he’s busier than a one legged man at an ass kicking contest because of his job and family (police officer, a training officer at that, plus being his agency’s public information officer, and getting nailed with court constantly because he’s got one of the highest arrest rates for his agency – and he’s got a 3 year old daughter and 13 year old son to keep up with – so understandable how he’s got no free time.) We had a great time visiting with them, and it was nice getting the little 6 horse back to whack on and tinker with in hopes of getting it running.

So this afternoon I decided to give the the advice I was given by the local marine dealer a try. Carried the motor out to the boat, since it’d be easiest working on it while mounted to the transom. I soon learned a valuable lesson – TAKE THE FUCKING PLUG OUT OF THE BOAT when it’s not in use. The week of rain we’ve had since my fishing outing left the boat FULL of water – covering the seats. Now, this wouldn’t have been SO bad – but the wonderful plywood storage box that was built between two of the seats contained three tackle boxes, my main fly box, my fire extinguisher, two first aid kits, a roll of tape, and a small tool kit. It was all under water. So were the fold up seats, the throwable PFD’s stored under the seats, the plywood flat bow floor, my dock lines, and all the carpeting. EVERYTHING, basically, except my battery and trolling motor – which are stored inside when not used. Took me 15 minutes of trying to get the plug out – I had to restort to a screw driver and a hammer to pop it out, in ice cold rain water. 10 minutes later the boat was done pissing all over the driveway, with a little help of my trusty bailing bucket. Bad sign ONE.

I took the flywheel off, and reset the points and coils – and BAM – the flywheel turned freely again, as did the throttle. I was a bit disheartened though – by the covering of rust on the surfaces of the fly wheel and coils. Took emery paper to the whole mess (marine guys said this was OK) and reassembled. Hook up the gas hose, pump up the bulb, set the choke, set the throttle, yank the starter cord and….. nada.

Yank the cord some more, push choke in, twist the throttle a little further this way and that – yank the cord again and – you guess it – nothing. Bad sign TWO.

Pulled the plugs – no sign of them getting any fuel into the cylinders after multiple attempts to start. OK. Check the fuel filter, and promptly pulled apart the fuel pump in the process. Doh! Off to the marine shop for a rebuilt kid, picked up my nephew to get his assistance as a second pair of hands along the way.

Getting back, we rebuilt the fuel pump (he held the directions and read them, I looked at the pictures. Pump the squeeze bulb and…gas shoots out of the line at the fuel-in portion. CRAP. Check everything…doh – tighten hose camp and re-squeeze…okay! Or at least, no more fuel shooting out. Squeeze the bulb till it’s hard again. Open the choke. Smells like gas. OK. Checked the throttle, yank the cord and….NOTHING. Again.

Pulled the spark plugs to check for spark. Nothing. FUCK. DOUBLE FUCK. FUCKITY FUCK. I’m really getting annoyed with this motor, and myself at this point. The motor – understandably for not running when it should. Myself – because I felt it was my fault it was in this condition anyway – I didn’t replace the thermostat when I got the motor – didn’t even check it. And it was stuck. And it caused the motor to overheat. And that killed the coils and condensers once and for all. And now it doesn’t run, because I’m a tard.

I can’t afford to sink anymore cash into this motor – both because of my lack of income at the moment, and my lack of give a damn about a 38 year old motor that won’t run. For the potential cost of what it’d take to get back into running condition if i paid a marine mechanic to do it – I could buy a motor from the same mechanic that runs. Or for a few hundred more – I could get an almost new motor that runs, or a bigger running motor of the same vintage. See the dilemma?

I might just be stuck being battery powered for quite some time.

Today was not my day. I hope tomorrow is better.

